Skip to content Skip to footer

Who are the judges?*

Prof. Em. Dr. Françoise Barones Tulkens – Belgium

  • 1976-98 : Professor at the ‟Université de Louvain la Neuve‟
  • 1998-2012: Judge and subsequently Vice-Chairperson of the European Court of Human Rights in Strasbourg
  • 2012-2016 : Member of the UN Human Rights Advisory Panel in Kosovo
  • 2013-2018: Member of the Scientific Committee at the EU Agency for Fundamental Rights
  • 2016-2017: Chairwoman of the “Monsanto tribunal »

Justice Dr. Johann van der Westhuizen – South Africa

  • 1976-1998: Professor and founding director of the Centre for Human Rights at the University of Pretoria
  • 1999-2004: Judge at the Transvaal Branch of the High Court of South Africa
  • 2004-2016: Judge of the Constitutional Court of South Africa

Adj. Prof. Dr. Elisabeth Abi – Mershed – USA

  • 2005 – present: Adjunct Deputy Professor at the Washington College of Law
  • 1992-2018: Staff member, then Legal Director and then Deputy Executive Secretary of the Inter-American Commission of Human Rights

Prof. Em. Dr. Giorgio Malinverni – Switzerland

  • Currently, Vice-President of the Administrative Court of the Council of Europe
  • 1965: Doctorate at the Graduate Institute of International Studies in Geneva
  • 2011: Conferred the title of doctor honoris causa by The University of Zurich
  • 1974-1980: Professor at the Faculty of Law of the University of Geneva
  • 1990-2006: Member of the European Commission for Democracy through Law (Venice Commission) 1990-2006
  • 2007-2011: Judge at the European Court of Human Rights (Strasbourg)
Prof Ledi Bianku

Prof. Ledi Bianku – Albania

  • Currently, Associate Professor at the Faculty of Law and Institute of Political Sciences at the University of Strasbourg
  • 2008-2019: Judge at the European Court of Human Rights
  • 2006-2008: Member of the Venice Commission For Democracy through Law
  • Lectured earlier human rights, EU law and public international law at the Albanian School of Magistrates and the Faculty of Law of Tirana University (Albania)
Dr. John Pace – Australia

Dr. John Pace – Australia

  • International Human Rights Law Specialist handling cases of international mediation and international treaty procedures
  • 1978-1988 Head of Special Procedures, involving investigative missions in several countries  
  • 1978-1991 and 1993-1994: Secretary to the United Nations Commission on Human Rights
  • 2004-2006: Chief of the Human Rights Office of the UN Assistance Mission to Iraq
  • 2000-2002: Director of the Australian Human Rights Centre at the University of New South Wales, currently a Director of its Diplomacy Training Programme


As per Article 7 of the Rules of Procedure, the court designates two registrars for the registry

Prof. Dr. Clara Burbano-Herrera

Prof. Dr. Clara Burbano-Herrera

  • Professor of International Human Rights Law (since 2019)

  • 2019–present: Director of the Programme for Studies on Human Rights in Context

  • 2015–present: Guest Professor at the University of Geneva

  • 2012–present: Guest Professor at the University of Pretoria

Yasmina El Kaddouri​

  • 2017-2018: LL.M in International and European Law, Ugent

  • 2018: Registered at the Ghent Bar

  • 2018 to date: Lawyer at Van Steenbrugge Advocaten, Ghent

Please note
* Please note that all Turkey Tribunal steering committee members, judges, rapporteurs, witnesses participate in Turkey Tribunal on voluntary basis, and no one of them will be paid for their contributions to the tribunal. All the proceeds raised through our fundraising will go to logistics, accommodation, venue for the tribunal and such costs during the tribunal hearings in Geneva in September 2021.